Bible Corner

“Bible Corner” — In the New Testament, as well as the Gospels, we have the letters written by various authors, the Acts of the Apostles and the Book of Revelation (or Apocalypse). The Acts of the Apostles is attributed to St. Luke and St. John is responsible for three letters and the Book of Revelation, St. Paul wrote to the Romans, two letters to the Corinthians, the Galatians, the Ephesians, the Philippians, the Colossians, two to the Thessalonians, two to Timothy, Titus and Philemon. The author of the Letter to the Hebrews is unknown, As well as John’s three letters, there are other apostles who wrote — we have two by Peter, and James and Jude have one each.

The Old Testament is sub-divided into four groups of texts. The sub-divisions are: The Pentateuch, the Historical Books, the Wisdom Books and the Prophets. The Pentateuch contains five books. The Historical Books section has 16 books. There are 7 in the Wisdom section and 18 in Prophets.

The five books of the Pentateuch are the books of the Jewish ‘Torah’: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy.